NC State Physics Logo

Richard Patty Award

Created in 2011, the Patty Award is presented to a graduating senior in recognition of outstanding leadership.

2018 • David Calvert, Elliot Holliday

2017 • Shannon Dwyer

2016 • Benjamin Beaumont

2015 • Sara Berry

2014 • Adrienne Cage

2013 • Mary Burkey

2012 • Adam Keith

2011 • Timothy Canty

Recipients of the Physics Graduating Senior Award for Outstanding Leadership prior to 2011:

2010 • Charles Stevens

2009 • Leslie Watkins

2008 • Turhan Carroll

2007 • Allison McCarn

2005 • Amber McFarland

2004 • Mark Harris, William Robinson

2000 • Jaqueline Jones

1999 • Kjersten Bunker

In the fall of 1976, Professor Richard Patty assumed the headship of the Department of Physics, a position he held for 19 years. During this period, the department gained significantly in teaching, research and public service and began to receive a new measure of national prominence. Two external reviews and two National Research Council reviews of doctoral programs made this recognition explicit. Professor Patty consistently showed a steady balance of judgment under which the department thrived during his long term as head. In fact, after his retirement in 1996 as a full-time faculty member from the position, he has continued to teach every semester to the date of this writing. Also, he chaired several search committees and later served as acting head of the Department of Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, and provided stability for that department at a critical juncture in its history.