NC State Physics Logo


Harald Ade

Distinguished Professor


Professor Ade received his PhD in 1990 in Physics from SUNY at Stony Brook (now Stony Brook University) and joined the NCSU faculty in 1992. He has held appointments at NCSU ever since: Assistant Professor (1992-97), Associate Professor (1997-2001), and Full Professor (since 2001).

Prof. Ade developed a number of novel instruments and characterization methods, which include Near Edge X-ray Absorption Fine Structure (NEXAFS) microscopy, X-ray linear dichroism microscopy, X-ray photoemission microscopy, resonant x-ray reflectivity and scattering, and 13C-labeling in Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS) depth profiling. Their applications focus primarily on determining the composition, morphology and structure of polymeric and electronic materials at the sub-micron spatial scale. See H. Ade's CV.

Select Publications | Complete List Of Publications

Visit ResearchGate to download many of the papers in pdf.

The influence of molecular orientation on organic bulk heterojunction solar cells
   J. R. Tumbleston, B. A. Collins, L. Yang, A. C. Stuart, E. Gann, W. Ma, W. You, and H. Ade, Nat Photon 8, 385-391 (2014). (Front Cover 4/26/2014)

Quantification of Nano- and Mesoscale Phase Separation and Relation to Donor and Acceptor Quantum Efficiency, Jsc, and FF in Polymer:Fullerene Solar Cells
   W. Ma, J. R. Tumbleston, L. Ye, C. Wang, J. Hou, and H. Ade, Advanced Materials 26, 4399-4399 (2014)

Accurate and facile determination of the index of refraction of organic thin films near the carbon 1s absorption edge
   H. Yan, C. Wang, A. R. McCarn, and H. Ade, Phys. Rev. Lett. 110, 177401 (2013)

Fluorinated polymer yields high organic solar cell performance for wide range of morphologies
   J. R. Tumbleston, A. C. Stuart, E. Gann, H. Yan, B. A. Collins, W. You, and H. Ade, Adv. Funct. Mater., DOI: 10.1002/adfm.201300093 (2013)

Absolute measurement of domain composition and nanoscale size distribution explains performance in PTB7:PC71BM solar cells"
   B. A. Collins, Z. Li, J. R. Tumbleston, E. Gann, C. R. McNeill, and H. Ade, Adv. Energy Mater. 3, 65 (2013). (Front Cover)

Polarized X-ray scattering reveals non-crystalline orientational ordering in organic films
   B. A. Collins, J. E. Cochran, H. Yan, E. Gann, C. Hub, R. Fink, C. Wang, T. Schuettfort, C. R. McNeill, M. L. Chabinyc, and H. Ade, Nat. Mater. 11, 536 (2012).

Miscibility, crystallinity, and phase development in organic solar cells: Towards an enlightened understanding of device morphology and stability
   B. A. Collins, J. Tumbleston, and H. Ade, J. Phys. Chem. Lett. 2, 3135 (2011).

Near-edge X-ray absorption fine-structure microscopy of organic and magnetic materials
   H. Ade and H. Stoll, Nature Materials 8, 281 (2009).

Interferometer Controlled Scanning Transmission X-Ray Microscopes at the Advanced Light Source
   A.L.D. Kilcoyne, T. Tyliszczak, W.F. Steele, S. Fakra, P. Hitchcock, K. Franck, E. Anderson, B. Harteneck, E.G. Rightor, G.E. Mitchell, A.P. Hitchcock, L. Yang, T. Warwick, and H. Ade, J. Synchr. Rad. 10, 125-136 (2003).

Confinement Induced Miscibility in Polymer Blends
   S. Zhu, Y. Liu, M.H. Rafailovich, J. Sokolov, D. Gersappe, D. A. Winesett, and H. Ade, Nature 400, 49 (1999).

X-ray Linear Dichroism Microscopy
   H. Ade and B. Hsiao, Science 262, 1427-1429 (1993).

Chemical Contrast in X-ray Microscopy and Spatially Resolved XANES Spectroscopy of Organic Specimens
   H. Ade, X. Zhang, S. Cameron, C. Costello, J. Kirz, and S. Williams, Science 258, 972-975 (1992).

Click here to view a larger list of publications.

Honors & Awards

  • 2014 Sayers Lecture, Physics, NCSU
  • 2013 Shirley Award for Outstanding Science at the Advanced Light Source
  • 2013 Alumni Outstanding Research Award for 2011-2012
  • 2011 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
  • 2010 Fellow, American Physical Society
  • 2002 Halbach Award for Innovative Instrumentation, Advanced Light Source, Berkeley
  • 2000 K. F. J. Heinrich Award, Microbeam Analysis Society
  • 1995 Proctor & Gamble Presidential Faculty Fellow Support Program
  • 1995 Sigma Xi Research Award, North Carolina State University Chapter
  • 1994 NSF Young Investigator Award
  • 1994 DuPont Young Professor Grant
  • 1994 Finalist, Proctor & Gamble University Exploratory Research Program
  • 1991 R&D 100 Award