NC State Physics Logo

Department of Physics Colloquia - Spring 2014

Unless noted otherwise, Physics Colloquia are held at 4:00 pm in 135 BTEC on Centennial Campus.
Refreshments are served from 3:30 to 4:00 in the BTEC Foyer.
To arrange a meeting with a colloquium speaker during their visit, please contact the corresponding host.

 

Monday, January 6

Army Research Office
From Chemistry to Solid State Physics--in Thin Air: A Story About Optical Lattices
Host: Jack Rowe

Monday, January 13

Department of Chemistry, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Characterization of the Initiation of DNA Mismatch Repair Using Multiple Single-Molecule Approaches
Host: Jack Rowe

Wednesday, January 22 (RD 301)

Technische Universit√§t M√ľnchen
Why There is Something Rather Than Nothing: The Search for Time Reversal Violation in Atoms
Host: Paul Huffman

Monday, January 27

Department of Physics, University of Florida
Connecting Metals and Semimetals to Semiconductors: The Ubiquity of Schottky Barriers
Host: Jack Rowe

Monday, February 3

Department of Physics, University of Utah
Organic Spintronics
Host: Kenan Gundogdu

Monday, February 10

Department of Physics, Virginia Tech
Neutrino Oscillations: Recent Discoveries and Future Experiments
Host: Jim Kneller

Monday, February 17

Department of Physics, William and Mary
A Correlated Electron Method For Materials: Random Walks in Slater Determinant Space
Host: Jerzy Bernholc

Monday, February 24

Department of Physics, Duke University
Resonant Tunneling in a Dissipative Environment: A Quantum Phase Transitio
Host: Dan Dougherty

Monday, March 3

Department of Physics, University of Florida
MiniBooNE Results and the Future of Sterile Neutrino Searches
Host: Jim Kneller

Thursday, March 6

Department of Physics, Carnegie Mellon University
The Jefferson Lab 12-GeV Upgrade and the GlueX Experiment
Host: Chueng Ji

Monday, March 17
Joint with MEAS: 1216 Jordan Hall

Department of Atmospheric Sciences, University of Washington
Tropical Rainfall: Past, Present and Future
Host: John Blondin

Monday, March 24

Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Massachesetts, Amherst
Wafer-Scale Epitaxial Graphene on SiC: Synthesis, Devices, and Transfer
Host: Dan Dougherty

Monday, March 31

Jefferson Lab
Nucleon Tomography with CLAS
Host: Chueng Ji

Thursday, April 10

NASA Goddard Space Flight Center
The History of the Universe from Beginning to End
Host: Steve Reynolds

Monday, April 14

North Carolina State University
The Influence of Molecular Orientation on Organic Bulk Heterojunction Solar Cells
Host: Dan Dougherty

Monday, April 21

Advanced Research Projects Agency
From Single Molecule Biophysics to Environmental Recording: The Interplay between Basic and Applied Biology
Host:

Monday, April 21